An Caislean

Guest house
Ballycastle, County Antrim
Average Guest Rating for An Caislean, Ballycastle
Rooms:
4.3
Value:
4.5
Friendliness:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Facilities:
4.1
Staff service:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating:
4.6
From 136 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Previous Page: ... 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 Next
Derek
Family with young Children
Stayed: Aug '11
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Friendly & Helpful Staff"
Short break with family... Read more
"Friendly & Helpful Staff"
Short break with family Read less
Likes:
Nice quality fittings in room. Good value for money with very approachable staff. Nice breakfast.
Dislikes:
None
Response from An Caislean:
Thank you for your comments - much appreciated. Claire & Berkeley
An Caislean, Ballycastle
Tim
Alone
Stayed: Aug '11
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very friendly and welcoming"
An excellent stay, very much enjoyed. The B&B had a lovely character, very welcoming - particularly good as someone who was there on my own. There was a family feel but maintaining a high standard... Read more
"Very friendly and welcoming"
An excellent stay, very much enjoyed. The B&B had a lovely character, very welcoming - particularly good as someone who was there on my own. There was a family feel but maintaining a high standard of professionalism. It was clean, with lovely facilities - great breakfast, WiFi (although this didn't work in my room) and a lovely sitting room (where the WiFi did work!). Highly recommended. Read less
Likes:
Warm, welcoming atmosphere
Dislikes:
WiFi did not work in my bedroom, but I could easily go to the shared sitting room where it did work.
Response from An Caislean:
Thank you for your comments - much appreciated. Claire & Berkeley
An Caislean, Ballycastle
Stefanie
Young Couple
Stayed: Aug '11
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Quaint warm and inviting b&b - very friendly staff and great rooms!"
We only stayed one night before heading to Rathlin Island, but it was very nice. Greatly situated just a few minutes (1-2 mins) walk from town center and the main bus stop. The staff was very friendly... Read more
"Quaint warm and inviting b&b - very friendly staff and great rooms!"
We only stayed one night before heading to Rathlin Island, but it was very nice. Greatly situated just a few minutes (1-2 mins) walk from town center and the main bus stop. The staff was very friendly and accommodating! We asked for an extended check out to allow for us to make some pre-set arrangements and stow our luggage until the evening and they didn't mind at all - very nice!! Read less
Likes:
The room was lovely, sitting room was nice
Dislikes:
None
Response from An Caislean:
Thank you for taking time to give a positive review. It's really very encouraging for us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time on Rathlin Island!
An Caislean, Ballycastle
deirdre
Young Couple
Stayed: Aug '11
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"stayed overnight to attend a local function"
friendly staff, clean and well furnished. had everything we needed at hand.... Read more
"stayed overnight to attend a local function"
friendly staff, clean and well furnished. had everything we needed at hand. Read less
Likes:
good location, friendly staff, good food
Dislikes:
no
Response from An Caislean:
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay!
An Caislean, Ballycastle
Shane
Young Couple
Stayed: Aug '11
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Yes Yes Yes"
Two night break... Read more
"Yes Yes Yes"
Two night break Read less
Likes:
Perfect, 500 mtrs from town 100 mtrs from coastline
Dislikes:
None
Response from An Caislean:
Thank you for your positive feedback - always encouraging!
An Caislean, Ballycastle
CESAR
Young Couple
Stayed: Aug '11
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Satisfied about value for money"
Confortable... Read more
"Satisfied about value for money"
Confortable Read less
Likes:
Bed very confortable
Dislikes:
Floor of the romm a bit noisy. First night no hot water. No space enough to place our bags
Response from An Caislean:
A hostel room. We're pleased you would recommend us - and we do appreciate your feedback. The Hostel is heated primarily by solar heating. Given the Irish climate (!), we do need to boost the heating with an oil-fired boiler from time-to-time. Sorry that we didn't boost it sufficiently on your first night's stay. For baggage storage, this room does enjoy a private corridor between the bedroom and the bathroom. We will try to fix the squeaky floor - a problem in an older house!
An Caislean, Ballycastle
Praveen Preet
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jul '11
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent!"
This is the best B&B we've stayed in. We were on a coastal road trip from Belfast to Derry and decided to stay the night at Ballycastle. An Caislean has an excellent location, just a 3 min walk to... Read more
"Excellent!"
This is the best B&B we've stayed in. We were on a coastal road trip from Belfast to Derry and decided to stay the night at Ballycastle. An Caislean has an excellent location, just a 3 min walk to the beach and to lots of restaurants as well. We were 3 friends so we took the 3 person family room. The room was very comfortable, felt like we were staying in a home rather than a B&B!There was a bathroom right next door.The hosts were warm, friendly and very accomodating. Thank you for a lovely time Read less
Likes:
Everything!
Dislikes:
-
Response from An Caislean:
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your friends will be very welcome!
An Caislean, Ballycastle
Miroslav
Alone
Stayed: Jul '11
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"Nice place, friendly staff"
1 night - good choice... Read more
"Nice place, friendly staff"
1 night - good choice Read less
Likes:
position, staff
Dislikes:
noisy bed :)
Response from An Caislean:
Dobry Den! Enjoyed meeting you Miroslav! Thanks for your helpful comments regarding the Castle Hostel section of An Caislean - hope we'll see you again sometime soon. Berkeley
An Caislean, Ballycastle
Lee
Alone
Stayed: Jul '11
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Happy Simplicity in the ambience of An Caislean"
(Short) Relaxed, quiet, no unnecessary intrusiveness. Comfortable... Read more
"Happy Simplicity in the ambience of An Caislean"
(Short) Relaxed, quiet, no unnecessary intrusiveness. Comfortable Read less
Likes:
It more than met my needs for a short stay... And excellent value for money..esepcially evening meal.
Dislikes:
Nothing negative made any impression
Response from An Caislean:
Thank you for your encouraging comments, Lee
An Caislean, Ballycastle
Amanda
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jul '11
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
3
Location:
4
"Clean but not"
My OAP mother and I stayed for 2 nights. Overall, the hostel was well stocked with facilities (except for the shower/toilet situation). The room wasn't ready when we arrived, an oversight by the staff... Read more
"Clean but not"
My OAP mother and I stayed for 2 nights. Overall, the hostel was well stocked with facilities (except for the shower/toilet situation). The room wasn't ready when we arrived, an oversight by the staff, dirty linen left, bin unemptied, but this was sorted out fairly quickly with appropriate apologies. The first night was quiet with only two other guests, but the second night was busy and the toilet situation because ridiculous. Accommodation dated but cheap, so you get what you pay for. Read less
Likes:
Clean. Quiet. Good location. Good sized rooms. Owners arranged for us to have the most suitable room for my OAP mother who finds the stairs difficult and letting us know the number of stairs etc.
Dislikes:
One toilet and shower for all guests made worse by the fact that they were in the same room. At peak times you had to wait an hour to get in to pee! Bad mould on roof of shower cubical.
Response from An Caislean:
Thank you for comments (which relate to Hostel accommodation only). Additional bathroom facilities are now available for hostel users so that problem has been duly rectified. Hostel bathroom ceiling is to be re-painted very shortly. Hostel rooms are also up several flights of stairs and are therefore regrettably not suitable for guests with mobility problems. The hostel section is for the budget traveller. While clean, hostel facilities are not meant to be de luxe. Rooms are priced accordingly!
An Caislean, Ballycastle
Previous Page: ... 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 Next

Secure Booking Online

Instant Confirmation

Check-in Date
Nights
#Rooms
 
Room 1
Adults
Children
Room 2
Room 3

Guest Reviews

Overall rating: 4.6 out of 5
 We stayed for 4 nights and saw some local sights eg the Giant's Causeway and Rathlin Island. 
Rachel / Sep 17
Read more reviews